Carol C Trumpet – A Very Impressive little horn!

Posted: September 16, 2010 in Gadget Talk
Tags: , , , , ,

For those of you that have been looking into Carol Trumpets (and there are a lot of you from what my stats are telling me) I want to point out an excellent horn that I’ve recently been reviewing with my good friend Dr Dave (Owner/Creator – Wedge Mouthpieces).

The horn is the Carol CTR-400CR (C- standing for C Trumpet and the R – stands for Gold Brass bell). Let me tell you that if you are considering purchasing a C trumpet in the near future please, oh please do yourself a favour and seek out one of the horns to test first.

If you are in New Zealand, Australia or Canada I can help you with this. If you are in the US visit the Carol Website and deal with one of the dealer there who can assist you. (Austin Winds or Trent at Austin Custom Brass come to mind as first choices).

This horn has been tested by both of us (more him than me as I mainly play Bb) and has come out comparable to horns that are literally 3 times more expensive.

We’ve put this horn though the test against Bach Strads (not just any Bach strad – but a gold plated version previously owned by some major professional players, Blackburn Custom C Trumpets and even a Harrelson modification. The Carol was equal to, if not excelled areas of these horns (obviously price being one of them)

What you can expect in one of these horns – is care and attention to detail, a beautiful tone and to play in tune.

Now some specs for all you Gearhead’s out there:

  • ML Bore – 11.7mm (Around .460)
  • 127mm Gold Brass Bell (5 inch)
  • Yellow Brass Leadpipe
  • Yellow Brass Tuning Slide – you get 2 choices shipped to you in the one package
  • Amado Style Waterkeys (upgraded version that screw apart – Carol improved design)
  • Finger Rings
  • 3rd Valve Stop
  • Comes with accessory pack – Cleaning cloth, Mouthpiece, Valve Oil and a Deluxe Codura style case which fits one horns and accessories

The horn we specifically tested was a CTR-400CR in Silver Plate.

The 400 series comes in the following configurations:

CTR-400C

Standard C trumpet in yellow brass and finished in Lacquer

CTR-400CR

C Trumpet with Gold Brass Bell and finished in Lacquer (Pictured Below)

CTR-400CR SLB* (Special Order)

C Trumpet with Gold Brass Bell and finished in Lacquer with the special brushed Satin look bell

CTR-400C (S)

C trumpet in yellow brass and finished in Silver Plate

CTR-400CR (S)

C trumpet with Gold Brass Bell and finished in Silver Plate

Carol Brass instruments are about to take off in a big way with some Artists starting to sign on as endorsers (Mr John Eth being one) are coming on board.

I recommend you look now and get in early on these horns!

Comments
  1. Hi Shawn,

    You did not invite me to comment, but I am going to jump in here anyway.

    I am VERY impressed with this horn. I am not adverse to spending what ever I need to on a horn to get the best player. It is about my only vice. You know this having seen my arsenal. I still cannot quite get my head around how Carol has managed to make a horn at this price point that I actually prefer to play over my Blackburns and Laskey modified 1970 Bach 229. There is NO reason why the Carol should play better, but I keep going back to the Carol and liking the way it plays better.

    The 400CR(S) is a slightly less open blow and more compact sound than my other horns. However, it is NOT stuffy and is very even in all registers. It sounds sweeter and is better in tune than my other C’s. It will light up when pushed. This horn is ideal for the kind of playing I do in church and chamber orchestra. It would be an excellent horn for a student getting his first C or for pro wanting to try something a little different than the standard Bach or Yamaha. I am still waiting to figure out something I do not like about it, because I can’t help thinking that I should like my other horns better, but I can’t help myself. I prefer the Carol.

    Cheers,
    Dave

    • CB says:

      In response to your comment”There is NO reason why the Carol should play better,”….Is there a reason why it shouldn’t play better? lol. EVERY player should evaluate a potential horn on sound ONLY(if price affordability is not an issue), and then price if you can not afford it.

  2. Myron Oleson says:

    I have purchased a Carol Pocket Trumpet. Hands down, it is one of the best horns in my collection! Fit and finish is every bit as good as Yamaha, and the valves/pistons are the equal of (better?) Getzen.
    The sound is big and full, with great feedback to the player. It appears that CarolBrass has become the value leader, AND the quality leader!

  3. rob harrison says:

    you ‘ve convinced me! Been looking for a C horn to play at church, to save me transposing all the time…. Going to try one out.. just ordered one.. will let you know!

    and dave.. thanks for the wedge! i love the mouthpiece….

    • trumpetgear says:

      Hi,
      That’s great to hear.
      I noticed you were in Canada?
      Next time let me know and you can purchase direct from us as we are the official distributors in Canada.
      I personally recommend the ML bore in silver plate.

      Let us know how your new horn works out!
      Regards,
      Shawn

  4. rob harrison says:

    thanks! i’ll keep that in mind, sorry i didnt know about it earlier.. what is your price range?

    looking forward to trying this one out…. dont like to be skeptical, but I’m trusting the comments here ! (even though you have a vested interest… :)

    take care..

  5. rob harrison says:

    by the way… this is the one i found
    CTR-400CRT-LS

    i wish i had known ahead of time that you sell them! Dave’s comment really sold me on it, as I have great faith in him after he helped me with a wedge mp.

    What do you think of the model i listed above? I usually only buy Yamaha horns (have 4), and hopefully this one will work for me.. otherwise.. may have to trade or sell and keep looking..
    :)

    take care
    rob h

  6. Glenn says:

    I just purchased a used CarolBrass CTR-400CR in like new condition and absolutely love the sound of this horn. Plays and feels like a quality bach or yamaha and with the two different tuning slides you can experiment with different mouthpieces to find the sweet spot. Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

